About Us Our Demands Our Principles Indigenous Rights


Extinction Rebellion is a global movement that uses non-violent civil disobedience in an attempt to halt mass extinction and minimise the risk of social collapse.

Our Story

On 31st October 2018, British activists assembled on Parliament Square in London to announce a Declaration of Rebellion against the UK Government. The next few weeks were a whirlwind. Six thousand rebels converged on London to peacefully block five major bridges across the Thames. Trees were planted in the middle of Parliament Square, and hole was dug there to bury a coffin representing our future. Rebels super-glued themselves to the gates of Buckingham Palace as they read a letter to the Queen.

Extinction Rebellion was born.

The call to rebel swiftly became global, with branches popping up the following week in Europe, the US, and soon after the world over. Leaderless and truly global, each new branch makes the movement stronger, bringing in new perspectives, wisdom, expertise, energy and inspiration.

So what’s next?

We are working relentlessly, building our movement in preparation for phase three, a global rebellion that will begin on the 7th of October 2019. So come and join us. Rebel for life. For the planet. For our children’s children’s futures. There is so much work to be done.

Qui est XR ? Nos demandes Nos principes Droits Autochtones




Extinction Rébellion est un mouvement international qui utilise la désobéissance civile non-violente pour forcer les institutions à agir face à l’urgence climatique et ainsi minimiser les risques d’effondrement social.

Notre histoire

Le 31 octobre 2018, des mmilitant.e.s britanniques se sont rassemblé.e.s sur la place du parlement à Londres pour déclarer un état de rébellion contre le gouvernement britannique. Les semaines qui ont suivi furent un véritable tourbillon. Six mille rebelles non-violents ont convergé vers Londres pour bloquer pacifiquement cinq grands ponts sur la Tamise. Des arbres ont été plantés au milieu de la place du Parlement, et un trou y a été creusé pour y enterrer un cercueil représentant notre avenir. Les rebelles se sont collés aux portes du palais de Buckingham en lisant une lettre à la reine.

Extinction Rebellion était né.

L’appel à la rébellion s’est rapidement mondialisé, avec la création d’autres groupes la semaine suivante en Europe, aux États-Unis et peu après dans le monde entier. Sans leader et véritablement mondiale, chaque nouvelle organisation locale rend le mouvement plus fort, apportant de nouvelles perspectives, de la sagesse, de l’expertise, de l’énergie et de l’inspiration.

Et la suite ?

Nous travaillons sans relâche à bâtir notre mouvement en vue de la prochaine semaine de la rébellion internationale, qui aura lieu au printemps prochain. Rejoignez-nous !