About Us Our Demands Our Principles Indigenous Rights


Our Demands


1: Tell the truth

That the Government must tell the truth about how deadly our situation is, it must reverse all policies not in alignment with that position and must work alongside the media to communicate the urgency for change including what individuals, communities and businesses need to do.

2: Act Now

The Government must enact legally-binding policies to both halt biodiversity loss and reduce carbon emissions in Canada to net zero by 2025. It must take further action to remove the excess of atmospheric greenhouse gases, and cooperate internationally so that the global economy runs on no more than half a planet’s worth of resources per year

3: Citizen’s Assembly Towards a Vigorous and Inclusive Democracy

The creation of a Citizen’s Assembly in charge of deciding the measures needed to reach goals.

4: A Just Transition for All

We demand a just transition that prioritizes vulnerable people and indigenous sovereignty; establishes reparations for colonial legacies and supports remediation efforts led by and for Indigenous peoples, racialized and poor communities to redress and repair years of environmental injustice and damage; establishes legal rights for ecosystems to regenerate and thrive in perpetuity, and reverse the effects of ongoing ecocide needed to stop the ongoing mass extinction, in order to maintain a healthy planet for all species.



MORE DETAILS

1

The government, elected officials and companies must recognize the new threats that weigh on the entire biosphere today, including humans. They must openly assume their share of responsibility for the destruction of ecosystems, climate change, the depletion of natural resources, and recognize the profound incompatibility between the current mode of economic development based on growth and the pursuit of profit, and the limits of our planet. They must admit the links between ecological crisis and social crisis and renounce any law or decision not going in the direction of the resolution of this deadly and unjust situation. The population must be informed of the risks, the changes to be implemented, and their social and economic counterparts. We ask the media to carry out a thorough work on the reasons for the unsustainability of our societies, to tell the truth about the seriousness of the situation and the depth of the changes that will have to be made if we want to face them.

2

“Good intentions”, “non-binding agreements” and “roadmaps” will not change the situation. We intend to force the government to achieve zero net greenhouse gas emissions by 2025. Our survival and that of other species must not depend on hypothetical and far-reaching technological solutions, abandoning the model of current economic growth and mass consumption before we are forced by planetary boundaries is the only viable option, so we must immediately begin an energy drive and the abandonment of fossil fuels. This policy will have to be brought to international level by binding agreements in order to undertake a global effort to the extent of the stakes.

3

These demands require a civil and solidarity mobilization of a scale and purpose comparable to those deployed in times of war. The governments that have succeeded each other in recent years, blinded by a logic of growth and short term planning, have shown their inability to deal seriously with these issues, so we want the power to be delivered to citizens, and at the local and regional level. A more vigorous and inclusive democracy needs to be put in place through the creation of a sovereign citizens’ assembly adapted to this change of society, which will guarantee equitable sharing of the effort to be made and solidarity with the most vulnerable people.

4

A just transition must shift Canada and the rest of the world away from fossil fuels towards clean energy, as well as from an extractive economy to one that puts life before profits. A just transition must take care of everyone economically impacted by the energy transition — this includes those already left behind in the present economy. (XR Qc- Extinction Rebellion Québec General Assembly, August 28th, 2019)

Qui est XR ? Nos demandes Nos principes Droits Autochtones


Nos Demandes


1: Dire la vérité

Les gouvernments doivent dire la vérité au sujet de l’urgence climatique et environnementale, renverser les politiques publiques qui sont incohérentes avec cet état d’urgence et travailler avec les médias pour expliquer à la population quels sont les enjeux véritables et comment réagir.

2: Agir maintenant

L’instauration des mesures politiques contraignantes pour mettre fin à la perte de biodiversité et atteindre la neutralité carbone d’ici 2025, grâce à une décroissance planifiée de la consommation d‘énergies.

3: Assemblée citoyenne pour une démocracie vigoureuse et inclusive

La création d’une assemblée citoyenne chargée de décider et de superviser les mesures à mettre en place pour atteindre ces objectifs.

4: Une transition juste pour tous.tes

Nous exigeons une transition juste qui accorde priorité aux individus les plus vulnérables ainsi qu’à la souveraineté autochtone, qui établit des mesures de réparation pour les héritages coloniaux et des mesures correctives dirigées par et pour les peuples autochtones, les communautés racialisées et les communautés démunies, ayant pour but de restaurer et réparer les années d’injustice environnementale. Nous exigeons une transition qui établit des droits légaux pour les écosystèmes, leur permettant de se régénérer et de prospérer en permanence, inversant ainsi les effets du présent écocide et empêchant l’extinction de l’humanité ainsi que d’autres extinctions causées par l’activité humaine, conservant une planète saine pour tous.tes.



Plus De Details


1

Les gouvernements, les élus et les entreprises doivent reconnaître les menaces inédites pesant aujourd’hui sur l’ensemble de la biosphère, dont l’humanité. Ils doivent assumer ouvertement leur part de responsabilité dans la destruction des écosystèmes, les changements climatiques, l’épuisement des ressources naturelles, et reconnaître l’incompatibilité profonde entre le mode de développement économique actuel basé sur la croissance et la recherche du profit et les limites de notre planète. Ils doivent admettre les liens entre crise écologique et crise sociale et renoncer à toute loi ou décision n’allant pas dans le sens de la résolution de cette crise mortelle et injuste. La population doit être informée des risques, des changements à mettre en œuvre, et de leurs contreparties sociales et économiques. Nous demandons aux médias de mener un travail de fond sur les raisons de l’insoutenabilité de nos sociétés, de diffuser la vérité sur la gravité de la situation et sur la profondeur des changements qu’il va falloir opérer si l’on veut y faire face.

2

Les “bonnes intentions”, les “accords non-contraignants” et les “feuilles de route” ne changeront rien à la situation. Nous entendons obliger les… gouvernements à atteindre la neutralité carbone d’ici 2025. Notre survie et celle des autres espèces ne doivent pas dépendre d’hypothétiques et lointaines solutions technologiques. La seule option viable est de renoncer, de nous-mêmes, au modèle de croissance économique actuel avant que nous y soyons forcés par les limites planétaires. Nous devons donc amorcer immédiatement une transition énergétique et l’abandon des combustibles fossiles. Cette politique devra être portée au niveau international par des accords contraignants afin d’engager un effort global à la mesure des enjeux.

3

Ces demandes nécessitent une mobilisation civile et solidaire d’une ampleur et d’une visée comparables à celles déployées en temps de guerre. Les gouvernements qui se sont succédés ces dernières années, aveuglés par une logique de croissance et de court terme, ont montré leur incapacité à s’occuper sérieusement de ces questions. Nous voulons donc que le pouvoir soit rendu aux citoyen.es. Au niveau local et régional, une démocratie plus vigoureuse et inclusive doit être mise en place. Au niveau national, nous demandons la création d’une assemblée citoyenne souveraine et adaptée à ce changement de société. Celle-ci sera garante du partage équitable de l’effort à accomplir et de la solidarité avec les personnes les plus vulnérables.

4

Cette transition juste doit amener le Canada et le reste du monde à abandonner les combustibles fossiles et l’économie extractive pour adopter une énergie propre et un système économique faisant passer la vie avant les profits et existant dans un espace sécuritaire et juste pour les animaux humains et non-humains. Les canadien.ne.s qui risquent de perdre leur moyen de subsistance suite à la transition écologique, comme celleux travaillant actuellement dans le secteur de l’extraction (ex., les sables bitumineux), doivent être protégé.e.s et préparé.e.s à cette nouvelle économie écologique par la garantie d’un revenu et d’une réorientation. (Assemblée générale de XR Qc - Extinction Rébellion Québec, 29 août 2019)